Which generation IS the change?

A long time ago, I was in academia… It was a lovely time for me, and we talked often of post-modernism. Now the talk I hear outside of academia is about what is after post-modernism. Many of the people whose ideas I follow were born before 1970. To me, these are folks who grew the post-modern era. My co-founder at Inspired Legacies, Tracy Gary, for example, grew up pushing for civil rights and women’s rights…and 35 years of pressing for social change and social change philanthropy has certainly had impact in the world. These folks, like my founder, have changed the world. It might not yet be what they were aiming for, but it is a different world.

However, most of these people were involved in or witnessed the technology revolution that brought us desktop computing and the internet. They didn’t grow up with this. They made it. And they continue to push brilliantly and heroically for a better world. (If they didn’t, I wouldn’t be following them.) My trick is this…they have the vision to describe what the next phase is and looks like. However, there has been such significant change, that I am not sure the tools and practices are second nature enough to them to BE that vision without applying significant consciousness to it.

However, I do sense that people from post-1970…(and I was born in 72, so I have to make sure I am on the right side of that number 😉 people from post-1970 have new ways of being as part of their–I mean OUR–nature. I grew up knowing there was an environmental crisis on our hands. I can’t picture a world before that was a concern. I grew up using a computer since I was 12. I grew up assuming women had the right to be in the workforce and deserved a chance at anything…as did anyone from any class or race. Of course it took awhile for me to debunk the myth of opportunity we perpetuate in the US. So I am starting to sense that while my elders may set a vision, it will be me and more so, those even younger than me who will be practicing that vision.

Note: looking at some of the information coming out about millenials has me rather hopeful!

Leave a Reply

